Chávez was…

It is just impossible not to say something about what Venezuela, the country where I live in, is experiencing these days, and in fact, it’s a good way to get back on track with this blogging thing.

A lot happened since february, the last time I posted something (but not the last time I wrote something), and the first subject I want to tackle, and maybe the most important at this moment, is: Hugo Chávez Frías, the elected president of Venezuela, passed away 2 weeks ago.

Hugo Rafael Chávez Frías, 1954 - 2013
Hugo Rafael Chávez Frías, 1954 – 2013

If you want information about Hugo Chávez, Venezuela or whatever related matter, there is plenty of it floating in the very surface on the internet right now, I just want to share a few thoughts about him.

I wasn’t a Chávez supporter, not even when he was first elected back in 1998, and I was only fifteen years back then. I have this feelings about the army that I don’t like to feel, it was always that way and with Chávez wasn’t any different from the very beggining.

But the thing is, whether you like or not, whether you believe or not, Chávez was the most important thing that happened to Venezuela in our contemporary history, and the only thing comparable to him is El Caracazo, not a coincidence that both are closely related.

Chávez was the president of the reality. That’s it. Chávez was, for all of us here, the guy who slapped us with reality.

Venezuelan people were ignoring problems all along since the early eigthies, and even when the will to improve was there, a lot of situations and mindsets hold us back.

Then this guy breaks with this crazy idea of given an opportunity to those who haven’t  had one and stuff, and that sounds good in theory, but when you play your part to split apart the population based on this other (and literally) crazy idea of class struggle, things go wrong in many levels.

Chávez was a hateful leader againts those who considered his enemies. Too bad that those so-called enemies are the other part of the country he just splitted.

6 millions people voted for Henrique Capriles Radonski (Chávez’s contender) the past presidential election. Even when Chávez surpassed Capriles by almost 2 million, there is a big chunk of this country claming for better conditions to live.

Peace of mind, basically.

I love Venezuela, but since Chávez got in power I became the enemy just because I don’t like his ways.

And that is something I want you to get very clear, I just don’t agree with his ways, but I want the very same thing: to live in the best country that we can possible build together.

Well, it’s clear that Chávez didn’t  like that “together”.

I came from a slump in my hometown, it’s actually uncommon to find someone who doesn’t (to some degree). My family not only knew, but lived in their own flesh every single problem Chávez was fighting againts. Doesn’t matter, because even though, I’m the enemy, the thing to destroy, to disappear, the “apátrida” (that’s a quote).

There is a lot that Chávez uncovered to the rest of the country, those who weren’t aware about the majority struggling againts an unfair system. But Chávez fought that system by building another unfair system, shaped under his image and the idea that he was the only that could bring light to Venezuela.

To many, he was. He still is. To many, Chávez was a president to be thankful for. I respect that because, and I don’t have the space to discuss this in here, Chávez brought light to many people in many different ways. And that’s a thing to be thankful for.

I want to thank him a lot too, seriously, because the first step to solve a problem is to be aware of it, and he did that quite well.

But, at least for me, that’s it, there is a country I still dream of, and I have no idea how to make it happen, or if I will be alive by then. So, there is a lot of work ahead.

Chávez was the presidente of the reality. I just want to move on and live in a society of possibilities.

To be stuck in the reality is just the exact of opposite of that.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Chávez was…”

  1. Chigüire Says:

    “Apatatrida” is a potato without nationality?

    Great read🙂

  2. One Game a Month Challenge February: Recon Tabletop Game | Lakitu's Dev Cartridge Says:

    […] « Chávez was… […]

  3. Elp Tique Says:

    Hugo Chavez was to many foreigners a sincere, warm, colorful and courageous man. He is not the one that CAUSED the social split you mention, rather the one that highlighted it and rebalanced it. When a people forgets huge parts of his population, such people must face the consequences. Additionally, Hugo was a very practical and pragmatic man, creating ties and building bridges, yet cutting ties that had become chokes such us the Texas oil mafia… And who would not want to cut those ties?
    He will go down in history as a true leader out shining most of his contemporaries and certainly all Venezual presidents of the past and present century.
    Hugo, you were a better Christian than most hypocrites in power today.

    • nicolailobachevscki Says:

      I can only suppose that you are not living in Venezuela. If that’s the case, I would gladly invite you then to come visit us, and see his “legacy”.

      And I really mean it.

    • nicolailobachevscki Says:

      I can only assume that you are not living here, in Venezuela. If that’s the case, then I kindly invite you to visit us, and see Chavez’s “legacy” working.

      I would want to believe what you are saying looks exactly as it sounds. It doesn’t.

      Come and see it yourself.

      Thanks for the coment.

Leave a Reply

