New Year’s Resolution: One Game a Month

And kind of my christmas eve present to myself.

logo

I’m working in some projects that are taking quite some time to see the light of day. That’s stupid, so here it is my New Year’s Resolution: one game every month of 2013.

I don’t have a game’s portfolio impressive or big enough, and even though I like the projects I’m working on there is no point in wainting that amount of time to increase my skills as a designer.

Something that has to be done is to prioritize the projects I’m already involved, and that is happening right now. I think Dark Recon is the only project that needs my whole attention in the short term.

I’m still regreting that I started kind of late in game developing. It’s time to stop that feeling and start making games like there is no tomorrow.

One game a month looks like a good idea. A very complicated one, but a good one nonetheless.

This initiative was an idea by @McFunkypants (Kristen Kaitila) and you can read the original post here.  To be part of the community that is growing around this challenge you can check the webpage dedicated to it.

I will be working in Game Maker Studio pulling out some ideas for Newsgames I had the past months, and actually one of those is almost finished. Newsgames is a type of games I’m very interested in and I will talk about them a lot in the next months.

My friend @pctroll will be my companion in this quest. As far as I know the only member of the Venezuelan game developing community that is also taking the challenge is @chiguire, as you can read here (spanish).

I will try to post about the games and the process every week.

It’s time to be the game developer that I want, and that starts now.

You are more than welcome to join us in this journey. Let us know if you do.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “New Year’s Resolution: One Game a Month”

  1. Vladimir de la Cruz (@vladimirdlc) Says:

    I also signed in, now that I am not currently working as part of a team I have a little more of freedom.

    This looks great, and at least is not as suicide, such as I read somewhere else that someone wanted to make a game each 10 days of the year.

  2. One Game a Month Challenge January: Cóndor « Lakitu's Dev Cartridge Says:

    […] « New Year’s Resolution: One Game a Month […]

Leave a Reply

