Orbita: First Post

I don’t actually want to talk about this game.

I keep this particular post quite a while in the draft because, to be honest, I’m afraid of this project. It’s too personal,  a little ambitious and complex.

Even when I actually have about a more than a year working on it in my spare time, I don’t have the confidence that this kind of project requires. This is why I finally decided to share it with you. I need to compromise myself with this.

Orbita is a First Person Puzzle heavily influenced by Portal. The idea came to my mind while I was attending to SIGGRAPH 2007 and watched this video in the Animation Festival:

Did you see it? the folding in the video. Well, that’s what my game is about: folding the environment in order to go through the levels.

Yup, I had the idea back in 2007, but started working on it a year ago becuase, as I said, I’m the guy who’s always late.

There is game that, alongside Portal, is driving the design of Orbita. It’s called Faultline by Nitrome 

Faultline was suggested by my friend Chiguire in one of those talks about our games. Thanks for that.

The idea is to create a fundamentally different experience, not only using Portal and Faultline as references, but a set of games that I have in mind.

There is no intention to create a complete game. Our idea is that, by december this year, to show a demo showing the fundamental mechanics we are planning, the story and a proposal of art direction.

For this particular project, I will be using Epic’s UDK. It is free, easy to use, flexible and the documentation is quite large on the web. If you are interested you can start on UDK’s website and also here.

Right now, I’m working on create a series of maquettes of the level proposal, with the aid of a friend who is a master in origami. Some pics of the work of the last month:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 My friend Pedro and his girlfriend are helping me with the story of this project. Actually, Pedro have been involved in the project from the very beggining, so many thanks to him.

As usual, I’ll be in charge of game design, modeling, texturing and UDK programming. This particular project is thought to be a demo than can be managed by no more than two 3D artist/UDK programmers.

I will talk about audio and art design a little bit later.

For now, I don’t want to get into much detail. I’m working very hard on this project, so I rather show you every result of that work than talk. Also, I’m really afraid so…

You can follow Orbita’s development on Twitter using this HT: #OrbitaGame

More information on this project soon.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Orbita: First Post”

  1. Gabriel Naranjo (@ganarce) Says:

    Muy interesante el concepto. Me gustó mucho el video de Beck.

    Por favor toma en cuenta los aspectos arquitectónicos de “doblar” el espacio: los mismos están siendo estudiados por la arquitectura quinética, entre otras disciplinas, y ya hay edificios que utilizan estos principios para lograr espacios impresionantes.

    Te puedo dar una lista de edificios ya listos para que veas a que me refiero. Por los momentos te dejo con este:

    http://anammanzo.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/folding-space-kinetic-architecture/

    ¿Por qué alguien inventaría un sistema para doblar el espacio? ¿quizas sería porque en relidad no tienes suficiente? Este tipo de limitaciones podrían crear rompecabezas interesantes

Leave a Reply

